Home | WRC | IRC | ERC | BRC | Other Rallies | Archive
Intercontinental Rally Championship
Nasser Al-Attiyah win Cyprus Rally while Mikkelsen is IRC champion for 2012
Posted by IRC - 04/11/12 11:26AM - 0 Comments - IRC - 1/52/53/54/55/5


The man who have to win the IRC title in 2012 and win the last rally in IRC history fail to do that. Andreas Mikkelsen in a absent of competitors lost the rally but not the title for season 2012.
Nasser Al-Attiyah with Ford Fiesta S2000 win Cyprus Rally 2012. Nasser win the rally after Mikkelsen problems with three punctures.
The rally start with interruption due too spectators problem in the super special stage. Mikkelsen win the stage but on SS 2 he has a puncture and allow to Nasser to takes the rally lead.
Toshihiro Arai out of the road in stage 3 but continue while Andreas damage his damper.
In SS 4 Al-Attiyah broken front driveshaft but continue and finished second in the stage. Sepp Wiegand spin during the stage as Robert Consani has a gearbox problems.
In stage 7 a puncture for Mikkelsen delay him but finished 2nd in the stage.
In stage 10 a new puncture for Mikkelsen push him to delay almost 2-minutes in the stage. In the last stage 13 the Mikkelsen car was driven by his co-driver Ola Floene as finished with 45-seconds delay by the leader.
The absent of competition is possible to see by the results where the third overall is at over 10-minutes distance.

1. N. Al-Attiyah 3:16:25.2
2. A. Mikkelsen +3:35.3
3. T. Arai +10:07.1
4. J. Nikara +12:42.1
5. S. Wiegand +14:00.6
6. S. Savva +15:45.1

With Cyprus Rally 2012 finished season 2012 for IRC. IRC gone into history as next year the championship transform into one with the European Rally Championship.
In a season without competition the champion for 2012 in IRC is Andreas Mikkelsen with Skoda Fabia S2000.

Add a comment

:angry: :flowers: :blink: :pinch: :blushing: :crying: :ermm: :getlost: :grin: :happy: :hug: :kiss: :laugh: :blah: :smile: :sad: :tongue: :wink:




© 2011 RallyPulse | Contact | FAQ | Links | Privacy Policy