Home | WRC | IRC | ERC | BRC | Other Rallies | Archive
World Rally Championship
Sordo (Hyundai) wins 2019 Rally Italia Sardegna
Posted by WRC - 18/06/19 03:10AM - 0 Comments - WRC - 1/52/53/54/55/5


Thrilling finale when the Spanish driver took the lead on the i20 WRC after Tanak spun on the last stage. Suninen (Ford) and Mikkelsen (Hyundai) complete the podium. The Italian event of the World Rally Championship has been confirmed in Sardinia for the next three years.

Alghero (SS), June 16 2019. Incredibile win for Dani Sordo and Carlos Del Barrio on Hyundai i20 WRC at Rally Italia Sardegna, eighth round of the World Rally Championship where the final Power Stage decided the fight once again. The Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Spanish crew was first after leg 1 on Friday, then they hold second position through Saturday and finally they have been ready to grab the win when Ott Tanak and Martin Jarveoja, in the lead from the half of leg 2, spun on the Toyota Yaris WRC during the last special stage of the rally. The Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Estonian driver had to slow down with a power steering issue to finish fifth overall. Tanak is the new championship leader anyway, but in the Italian round was also passed by Teemu Suninen and Jarmo Lehtinen on M-Sport Ford World Rally Team Fiesta WRC, who came in second behind Sordo, and by Andreas Mikkelsen and Nicolas Gilsoul on the Hyundai i20 WRT, that completed the overall podium after winning all the four Sunday’s special stages run to beat the Ford Fiesta WRC of Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin, who finishd fourth.

Automobile Club d’Italia has found an agreement with WRC Promoter Gmbh to confirm for other three years Rally Italia Sardegna in the calendar of the World Rally Championship. This was also confirmed by Angelo Sticchi Damiani, President of Automobile Club d’Italia. ACI’s work, in partnership with Sardinia Region that has organized the 16th edition of Rally Italia Sardegna, was rewarded with a record audience that followed every phase of the eighth round of the World Rally Championship.

Coming back to this year final standings, sixth position for Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul on the Hyundai i20 WRC. Seventh on the finish line in Alghero, base of the rally for the fifth year in a row, Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm with the first Citroen Total WRT C3 WRC in the standings. Eighth place for Kris Meeke and Sebastian Marshall on Toyota Yaris WRC, while top-ten was completed by the best protagonists of WRC2 Pro, won by the young Finnish Kalle Rovanpera and co-driver Jonne Alttunen, who head a Skoda Motorsport Fabia R5 Evo 1-2 on their teammate Jan Kopecky. Pierre-Louis Loubet (Skoda Fabia R5) won the WRC2 category, while Jan Solans (Ford Fiesta R2) topped the Junior WRC standings.

Final Classification: Sordo (Hyundai) in 3h32’27”2; 2 Suninen (Ford) a 13”7; 3 Mikkelsen (Hyundai) a 32”6; 4 Evans (Ford) a 33”5; 5 Tanak (Toyota) a 1’30”.

Add a comment

:angry: :flowers: :blink: :pinch: :blushing: :crying: :ermm: :getlost: :grin: :happy: :hug: :kiss: :laugh: :blah: :smile: :sad: :tongue: :wink:




© 2011 RallyPulse | Contact | FAQ | Links | Privacy Policy